Top Ten of 2021

I was going to cheat and make a top 21 of 2021 thinking I was being oh so clever but I have been strong and whittled down my list to just ten of the best of the best, in my humble opinion of 2021. A shout out to Titan Books and Aconyte Books that basically make up the majority of the list!

The past few years have certainly been something, I never thought when I was growing up playing games like Resident Evil or Pandemic I would end up living through one. I have to say if it hadn’t been for books, my family and a slightly unhealthy addiction to Animal Crossing which I introduced my mom to as well I don’t know how I would have coped. I started to really focus on reviewing in 2021 and I plan to take it even further in 2022. Thankfully there were some fantastic releases and some old nostalgic favourites that helped get me through.

1)               The Serpent and the Dead by Anna Stephens (Aconyte Books)

This one holds a special place for me. It was my first ARC! Not only that but it features some of my favourite characters. When I was younger I used to love Xena: Warrior Princess (I still do) and it made me hunger for strong, skilled and fierce female leads. Enter Anna Stephens and her wonderful portrayal of Lady Sif and the Valkyries. Sprinkle in a heartwarming romance between two of the warriors and it had to become a favourite. I was raving about it for ages. It is definitely deserving of a number one spot and I will always hold it fondly for it being my first proper ARC and strong, amazing and memorable female leads.

My Review can be found here.

2)               Dark Avengers: The Patriot List by David Guymer (Aconyte Books) 

Everyone loves a bad guy now and again. Dark Avengers The Patriot List was something I didn’t know I needed. Well I did know I wanted more ‘villain’ content but I don’t know how and frankly David Guymer delivered. This one had everything I could have wanted in a book. Not only was it fast-paced, action-packed and have superb characterization of well loved Marvel villains it also dealt with deeper issues such as mental health in a truly respectful way. Showing that even superheroes have to deal with deeper issues.

My Review can be found here

3)               The Horseman by Christina Henry (Titan Books)

I was introduced to Christina Henry with Alice in 2015. I quickly fell in love with her writing style and instantly started the Black Wings series. When I heard she was coming out with a new take on The Legend of Sleepy Hollow I knew it would be good and I was not disappointed. It had absolutely everything I could have wished for in one of her books and was written so beautifully. A strong lead who finds their place in a world where they are expected to be something and someone they don’t want to be. It’s on my re-read pile already as well as Near the Bone (which would come in at number 11 on the list if I’d done 21 books!)

My review can be found here

4)               Under the Bridge: Book 1 – The Liverpool Mystery Series by Jack Byrne (Northodox Press)

Another fantastic book. Jack Byrne is a master of his craft and has created a wonderfully realistic and vivid mystery set in Liverpool. Blending the past and present into a tale of action and mystery. Peppered with beautiful details of Liverpool and giving a true sense of the great English city. I am extremely excited for the second book in this series, Across the Water and can’t wait to see what happens next.

My Review can be found here

5)               A Dowry of Blood by S.T. Gibson by Nyx Publishing

I found this book by accident and I am so glad I did. A wonderful re-telling of Dracula from the point of view of the brides. It was beautifully written and captured the beauty and melancholy of immortal life. Focusing on the love the brides find for each other and the way each deals with the position they are in. It was a quick but wonderful read.

Review incoming!

6)               Witches Unleashed by Carrie Harris (Aconyte Books)

Another Aconyte title and a wonderful addition to the Marvel Untold series. Focusing on Ghost Rider and three somewhat overlooked witches of marvel; Jennifer Kale, Satana Hellstrom and Topaz. It was wonderful to see these characters get more love and attention and come to life in this perfect book.

My review can be found here

7)               My Heart is A Chainsaw by Stephen Graham Jones (Titan Books)

Always a fan of ‘Slasher’ movies, when I learned that Stephen Graham Jones, arguably one of the new masters of horror, was coming out with My Heart is a Chainsaw I was incredibly excited. With a wonderfully flawed protagonist in Jade I was sure this was going to be good and it most definitely did not disappoint. Visceral, dark and yet strangely beautiful this was one of my favourites of 2021. It really touched the nostalgia with references to the great slasher movies and was wonderfully brought together. The end chapter and particularly last few lines are still with me.

My Review can be found here.

8)               The Rebels of Vanaheim by Robert Lee Byers (Aconyte Books)

It’s another Aconyte title! Are you surprised? This one had everything I could have wanted – apart from Amora. After reading the Head of Mimir at the very start of the year, after finding Aconyte books via The Wrath of N’kai I was excited to see not only another book by Byers but one featuring Heimdall. Add to this the wonderful Uschi, Draugr and a sprinkle of cosmic/eldritch horror and you have me hooked. It was wonderful. I cannot wait for the paperback to arrive.

My review can be found here

9)               Lakesedge by Lyndall Clipstone (Titan Books)

This was a beautiful gothic fantasy and I instantly fell in love with it. I adored the characters and world setting. The writing was lyrical and beautiful and the protagonist was rather refreshing for a female lead in a gothic novel. Most definitely worth a read, or re-read.

My review can be found here

10)            Elder God Dance Squad by Carrie Harris (Inked Entertainment)

What can I say, eldritch horrors meets Cheerleaders?! It’s an obvious yes! This was such a fun, refreshing and memorable read. Would I have ever thought that I would read a book about Cheerleaders? No. Am I glad I did? Yes. Did it become one of my favorite books of all time? Also yes.  From the fun and relatable characters to the wonderfully comic and dark entities this was perfect. Peppered with references to Lovecraftian horror and wonderfully written it is definitely a must read.

My review can be found here.

While I managed to stick to my top ten I will give a couple of honourable mentions to two more Aconyte titles – ones I kept from the list due to them being anthologies. School of X and The Devourer Below. Both of these books were fantastic but I felt that it would be a bit of a cheat to use an anthology in my top ten! I also want to mention Leahwife – this was a wonderful and interesting read that focused on one of Shakespeare’s often overlooked women, King Leah’s wife. Again these three books were so close to making it and are a definite must read.

I’ll soon be making my most anticipated releases for 2022 as well – unsurprisingly you might find a lot of Aconyte Books there and Titan Books.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started