ARC Review Secrets Unbound by Sarah Cook


Introduction


I was given a copy to review by Sarah Cook the author. My reviews are always honest, and all opinions are my own and freely given.     #SecretsUnbound #DiaryOfMurdersBookTwo #SarahCook #HistoricalNovel #HistoricalThriller #VictorianThriller #VictorianRomance #SpicyRead  #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted


Blurb


Love Binds Us All

15 years after the tragic events of 1896, Dr Miriam Bennett is recovering in her childhood home turned women’s refuge. Looking after the residents with her family and running a local suffragette movement, Miriam has kept herself busy. Yet she is still struggling with the memories and the pain – haunted by the image of her dead husband John and the murders he committed.

When childhood friend Polly Richards moves back to town to help run her family’s local pub, she finds herself drawn into Miriam’s world. Polly is keen to unlock love within Miriam again but is unsure about embarking on a path of pain and bondage. Yet as the two women grow closer, Polly finds herself giving into Miriam’s desires.

However, deadly secrets are about to be uncovered when Miriam’s son Jack finds a diary – a diary of murders…


Review


I usually say that my reviews are unbiased but I’m afraid I cannot say that this time. Since reading Diary of Murders I have been obsessed with this series. I honestly can’t remember the last time I got hooked on a series of books (apart from The Lord of the Rings) and I can’t see the obsession going away. Now I will start by saying this may not be for everyone. If you don’t love your stories with a bit of darkness, a lot of spice and amazing characters this might not be for you. If you also don’t like having your heart constantly broken then fixed only to be broken again maybe reconsider. But let’s face it we’re readers and that’s half the fun of reading.

Now in all seriousness I adored this second instalment in the series, not including the short story collection – Several Glorious Months. Once again Sarah manages to whisk us back in time and into the lives of Miriam and her family and friends. We have some new and old faces to meet and can I just say while Miriam will always be my favourite Polly was a very close second. The writing, pacing and storyline are perfectly paired together. I adored the mixture of points of view and journal entries and I can honestly say this is the first time I’ve liked a younger character, Jack, so quickly.

Of course we also have spice and let me tell you I adore the way Sarah writes these scenes. The mixture of passion and love and sometimes just raw emotions that come through are insane. Of course it wouldn’t be a Diary of Murders novel without a bit of a heartbreak. Or a lot to be fair. Secrets Unbound is a rollercoaster of emotion particularly if you are overly attached to the characters. I never do spoilers but I can honestly say towards the end I was holding my breath at points. I loved it and I hated it, but I hated it in the best possible way.

Needless to say I recommend Secrets Unbound and the whole Diary of Murders series to anyone who loves a good dark, historical and spicy read. Just be prepared to have your heart ripped out during reading but it is all worth it in the end. I cannot wait for the next instalment!

Thank you so much to Sarah for the early copy to read and review!


Hashtags


#SecretsUnbound #DiaryOfMurdersBookTwo #SarahCook #HistoricalNovel #HistoricalThriller #VictorianThriller #VictorianRomance #SpicyRead  #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #BookBlogger #BookHoader  #FantasticRead #BookDragon #BookShark #BookReader #Bookstagram #BookNerd #BookReader #BookLover #BooksBooksBooks #BookAddict

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started