ARC Review Secrets and Sacrifices A Regency Cthulhu Novel


Introduction
I was given to review. My reviews are always honest and all opinions are my own.     #SecretsAndSacrificesARegencyCthulhuNovel #CathLauria  #AconyteBooks #CallofCthulhu #Netgelly #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #ARCReview 


Blurb


Explore a new world of monsters and manners in this darkly captivating regency romance with an eldritch twist from renowned roleplaying game, Call of Cthulhu

When Cassandra Wright’s father was accused of murder her whole life fell apart, leaving her with no prospects, no money, and a broken engagement. But Cassandra always suspected foul play. Five years later, she’s determined to discover the truth.

With her childhood friend Thomas reluctantly acting as her new husband-to-be, Cassie must talk her way into the home of her former fiancé, who she’s convinced knows more than he ever let on. Once inside she’ll have to navigate the pitfalls of polite society while attempting to dig deep into her father’s life.

There are dark, twisted secrets lurking in the shadows, and Cassie must unravel them before they can consume her.


Review


I feel like I need to preface this by saying I really, really did not like Regency literature while at university. I could not get in to Jane Austen or anything like that. But when I saw this title two things stood out and overshadowed the Regency aspect. First the author, Cath Lauria who I know is a fantastic writer and second Cthulhu (and of course the Call of Cthulhu game links). I am so glad it did because now I can say that if my regency novels had eldritch horrors or secret societies I am sold on them.

First I want to say that this does read a lot like Regency novel but as mentioned, I actually enjoyed that when in Lauria’s hands. We are transported back to the time of dances and high society but with the added bonus of horror thrown in and let me tell you Lauria knows what she is doing! I have never had so much fun reading, that is a slight lie because I did when I read Lauria’s other works but you know what I mean.

From the prologue we are made aware just what we are in for and I was hooked. I will say that while the eldritch monster may not have all the bells and whistles you could throw in I feel like for Secrets and Scarifies and the setting it works. I will also admit that the prologue made me love said ‘monster’ but that may reflect more on my psychology than anything else! Still I feel like it was the perfect creation to wreak havoc on polite society of the time. Beyond the monster the human characters, particularly Cassandra (and Thomas as well) are wonderful. I loved seeing a female character of the time taking matters into her own hands and seemingly dragging Thomas along for the ride.

I always avoid spoilers but if you like your heroines pushing historical boundaries but in a believable way, your regency historically on point and more than a few twists and turns, not least an eldritch monster, you need to pick this one up!


Hashtags


#SecretsAndSacrificesARegencyCthulhuNovel #CathLauria  #AconyteBooks #CallofCthulhu #Netgelly #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #ARCReview  #BookBlogger #BookHoader  #FantasticRead #BookDragon #BookShark #BookReader #Bookstagram #BookNerd #BookReader #BookLover #BooksBooksBooks #BookAddict  #Book



Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started