ARC Book Review Horror Movie by Paul Tremblay


Introduction


I was given a copy to review by Titan Books and Netgalley. My reviews are always honest and all opinions are my own and freely given.     #HorrorMovie #PaulTremblay #TitanBooks #NetGalley #Horror #ARCReview  #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted


Blurb


Summer, 1993 – a group of young guerrilla filmmakers spend four weeks making Horror Movie, a notorious, disturbing, art-house horror film. Steeped in mystery and tragedy, the film has taken on a mythic, cult renown, despite only three of the original scenes ever being released to the public.

Decades later, a big budget reboot is in the works, and Hollywood turns to the only surviving cast member – the man who played ‘the Thin Kid’, the masked teen at the centre of it all. He remembers all too well the secrets buried within the original screenplay, the bizarre events of the filming, and the crossed lines on set.

Caught in a nightmare of masks and appearances, facile Hollywood personalities and the strangeness of fan conventions, the Thin Kid spins a tale of past and present, scripts and reality, and what the camera lets us see. But at what cost do we revisit our demons?

After all these years, the monster the world never saw will finally be heard.


Review


I have to say this was my first Tremblay and I do not think it will be my last. For me I particularly enjoyed how the author deconstructs the genre of the slasher and rebuilds in a way that is new but with enough familiarity to give that extra layer of uncanny. I particularly liked the inclusion of the screen play sections that were a bit reminiscent of The Last Final Girl by Stephan Graham Jones.

In Horror Movie Tremblay does two things, for me at least, he provides an emotive horror novel but also explores the idea of ‘fandom’ or in this case cult like status that some movies (not always horror) can attain and how it makes those things take on a life of their own.

I don’t want to give too much of the plot away but I have to say that I really enjoyed this one and as someone new to Tremblay I found this a brilliant starting point and will certainly be reading more of their work. If you enjoy horror with a bit of realism to it and that explores several layers then this is for you.


As always thank you to Titan Books for the copy to review. My review is honest and truthful.


Hashtags


#HorrorMovie #PaulTremblay #TitanBooks #NetGalley #Horror #ARCReview  #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #BookBlogger #BookHoader  #FantasticRead #BookDragon #BookShark #BookReader #Bookstagram #BookNerd #BookReader #BookLover #BooksBooksBooks #BookAddict

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started