ARC Review Blood Blade vol 1 by Oma Sei

Introduction

I was given to review. My reviews are always honest and all opinions are my own.     #BloodBlade #OmaSei #Manga #KodanshaComics #NetGalley  #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #HorrorManga

Blurb

Count Dracula is reborn as a katana-wielding young vampiress in a new, never-seen-before action manga set in a gritty, alternate-history Europe. Fans of cinematic, gory, supernatural alternate histories, like Vampire Hunter D, Hellsing, and Dance in the Vampire Bund, will want to sink their fangs into BLOOD BLADE.

Made in Japan, first published in English!

Having fallen in battle long ago, Count Vlad Dracula is reborn as a katana-wielding young vampiress in an alternate-history Europe. After the reincarnated Dracula rescues a girl named Clara from a mysterious stranger, Clara explains that she is the creation of a certain Victor Frankenstein. She also reveals that she is fleeing from an organization called Cerberus, which seeks to capture and study “monsters” such as herself in order to create an army of human-monster hybrids. Clara begs the vampiress to flee with her to an island of monsters where the two of them will be safe…but as they set out for Monster Island, the sinister forces of Cerberus are in hot pursuit.

Review

I am obviously a fan of manga but I also adore horror and anything regarding vampires or Vlad the Impaler (but still prefer Werewolves!) so Blood Blade is right up my street. I adored the alternative history for Europe and the references to other ‘monsters’ be they literary or folkloric. The story is captivating and enjoyable with memorable and enjoyable characters. The artwork is amazing and I adored the style.

I also liked how we get enough information to hook us but not enough to spoil anything. I am guessing as the story progresses we will find out more about the characters and world they live in as well as backstory. Well I’m sure I find out when the volumes arrive since I have preordered all the ones available! If you enjoy horror manga or alternative history stories I would say give this one a chance you will not be disappointed.

Hashtags

#BloodBlade #OmaSei #Manga #KodanshaComics #NetGalley  #BookReview  #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #HorrorManga #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #LGBTQIA #RomanceManga #BookBlogger #BookHoader  #FantasticRead #BookDragon #BookShark #BookReader #Bookstagram #BookNerd #BookReader #BookLover #BooksBooksBooks #BookAddict 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started