Book Tour Review The Elementalists Book 1 Phoenix Rising by Ephie & Celia Risho


Introduction


I was given a copy to review as part of a book tour hosted by Love Book Tours. My reviews are always honest and all opinions are my own. #TheElementalists #PhoenixRising #LoveBookTours #LBTCrew #EphieRisho #CeliaRisho #Netgalley #YoungAdult #Fantasy #BookReview #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #BookTour


Blurb


A MYSTERIOUS ATTACK. AN UNEXPECTED HERO. A DIABOLICAL SCHEME.
Amber didn't plan on leaving home to find the dangerous attacker, but pixies can be pretty convincing.
When a strange creature attacks Amber's sleepy village and burns one of the fields, the townsfolk prepare for the next assault. But the mischievous pixies in the nearby forest pull Amber from the town meeting and give her a different goal.
Armed only with her archery skills and a pixie nudging, 12-year-old Amber bravely sets out to discover why this is happening and how to stop it.
But her journey becomes far more important than imagined. The attack seems to be a small part of a greater diabolical plan. One that could cost innocent lives and push Amber to the frontlines of the battle.
She'll need help from new friends Basil and Theo, insights from a hard-to-find wizard, and knowledge of ancient powers capable of matching the encroaching evil. Otherwise, the peaceful world she knows may disappear forever.
An epic coming-of-age fantasy adventure for young and older readers alike!
Fans who love Young Adult epic fantasies like Wings of Fire and Percy Jackson will love this novel, Book 1 in The Elementalists series.


Review


I can say that as the blurb suggests Phoenix Rising is perfect for fans who love Percy Jackson and other middle grade and young adult epic fantasy series. Despite being in my thirties I thoroughly enjoyed the first instalment in The Elementalists series and cannot wait to read the others.
Now we know I dislike spoilers but I will say that I loved that we were dropped straight into the world and action. The world building felt natural as well which I adored. We learn about the world, it’s inhabitants and magical creatures as we follow Amber and later Basil and Theo and it isn’t via information being thrown at us at the start or when a new creature or feature of the world is revealed. I personally love this style of fantasy writing since it helps the story and plot flow while explaining how the world works.
In terms of characters this really excels. I loved the trio we are introduced to and it does give a sort of young questing party vibes you might find from dungeons and dragons or your other preferred tabletop roleplaying game. I loved Amber, Basil and Theo but I also loved the supporting characters as well, particularly Sage. I also loved all the different creatures and their descriptions too. Honestly I pretty much loved everything about it!
I think this is the perfect book for those who are looking for a bridge from middle grade to young adult or like myself who just love a good epic fantasy no matter their age. It’s full of all the things that make fantasy one of my favourite genres, forming friendships with a touch of found fantasy, epic adventures, battles, magical and mythical creatures and a well built world.


Hashtags


#TheElementalists #PhoenixRising #LoveBookTours #LBTCrew #EphieRisho #CeliaRisho #Netgalley #YoungAdult #Fantasy #BookReview #FreeReview #AdPR #Gifted #BookTour #BookBlogger #BookHoader #FantasticRead #BookDragon #BookShark #BookReader #Bookstagram #BookNerd #BookReader #BookLover #BooksBooksBooks #BookAddict #Book

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started